The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for the development, learning and care of children from birth to five. All registered providers of Early Years care are required to use the EYFS statutory framework.

Themes and principles

EYFS is based around four themes, each of which is linked to an important principle:
· A unique child
every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.
· Positive relationships
children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.
· Enabling environments
the environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.
· Learning and development
children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of learning and development are equally important and interconnected.
· Each principle has four commitments, which explain how the principles can be put into practice.

Working together for your children - key person system

Your child will be allocated a key person - ‘A key person has special responsibilities for working with a small number of children, giving them the reassurance to feel safe and cared for and building relationships with parents.’

The advantages we expect from using the key person system are…
· Making good relationships with parents and children
· Excellent communication between key staff and parents so being able to identify and deal with any problems that may arise efficiently.
· Making it easier to observe smaller groups of children and so recognise developmental stages and plan accordingly.
· Any areas where progress is needed can be picked up on and learning experiences planned.
· New children are given one to one attention in order to settle well.